Skip to main content

15 wild observations/wonderings from watching Kitchen Nightmares

So, I've recently been on a Kitchen Nightmares kick. Here are some wild things I've observed/wondered as I watched.

  1. It's bad enough that the majority of these restaurants aren't clean when the cameras aren't there, but how do none of them think to at least clean RIGHT BEFORE the cameras show up?
  2. How do so many people with 0 restaurant or even food experience think they should open a restaurant?
  3. Why do so many of these owners think a restaurant is a way to make a quick buck?
  4. I find it funny that even after the first season, restaurant staff are still like, "Wow, I never imagined Gordon would shut down our restaurant during service!" as though that isn't just a segment of every episode
  5. I do think sometimes Gordon is oblivious when it comes to why restaurants have broken equipment and/or outdated decor...like...they don't have money...that's why (not all the time, but a lot of the time)
  6. So many of the staff and owners of these restaurants need serious therapy (like there was one guy whose cooking and thus restaurant started to suffer AFTER HIS SON DIED, AND HE DIDN'T SEEK MENTAL HELP)
  7. I wonder how many of the owners and staff are still thankful for the show, even though most (if not all) don't survive long (not to blame the show for this, though, as Gordon shows up when the restaurants are already in massive debt, and the restaurant industry is notoriously tough in the first place)
  8. Additionally, I wonder how many of the owners and staff are still in the restaurant or food industry after the show
  9. I'm kind of shocked that there have only been like two lawsuits that this show resulted in
  10. I have always been amused by how many times someone is like, "Wow, Gordon is hot!" And like, not to yuck anyone's yum, but Gordon has never been my idea of a stunner
  11. I know this is reflective of larger societal trends and gender norms, but I cannot fathom how so many of the restaurant owners' wives are SUPER in the dark about the restaurants' finances when the restaurants are like $500k+ in debt
  12. I am equally baffled by restaurants on the show that have hung on for years and by restaurants that are so deeply terrible after being open only months
  13. I was probably most shocked by how disgusting a restaurant in New Orleans was when the owners were a nurse and a doctor who literally specialized in infectious diseases
  14. I'm never sure how so many of the owners think they will get away with lying about things being frozen when they KNOW Gordon is going to go through their fridges
  15. I wish Gordon would either call EVERYONE (men included) "Sweetie" and "Darling" or not refer to the women by those terms

(Prompt by me)

Kitchen Nightmares, Fox

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

90 Day Fiance: Before the 90 Days season 5, episode 4

Excited to meet Johnny! So Ximena has faith in more kisses Mike...why did you delete that call info? Mike, you didn't download the dictionary? Caleb, Alina keeps giving hints that you're supposed to kiss her The tumbleweed necklace is sweet Memphis, your language barrier is huge Poor Hamza's friend If your ankles are swollen, Kim, I'd go to a doctor Okay, let the record show that Kim said Usman could go alone (okay she kinda goes back on that) Johnny is quitting his job for this visit? Doesn't he have a kid to support? Okay I'm gonna be mean for a sec...Johnny's friend WISHES he could get someone as pretty as Ella Gino is a child I guess Gino knows his way around Uh oh, Gino, what are you hiding?  Ah he's still friends with an ex...Jasmine will hate that when she finds out Mike is so stressed out Caleb called Elijah stunning Elijah is great TV Sexy Naruto Johnny and Ella may be a good fit actually Rosa Ree is so charming Oop Alina was living with an ex u...

15 Valentine's Day cards with alligators or crocodiles

Happy Valentine's Day! 1. Honestly, all of Liz Climo 's stuff is great 2. Not sure who created this beauty, but I found it here 3. You can purchase instructions for this beautiful craft here 4. I'd snap you up if you said be my valentine. 4 1/2" x 6 3/4" circa 1930s cards moves so that figure falls into alligator's mouth mechanical flat Found it here 5. Sadly this guy is discontinued, but if it comes back, you can buy it here 6. Buy it here ! 7. Alligators can be letters! Buy this card here 8. Adding chocolate never hurts. Image from here 9. This cutie has my heart. Find it here 10. Not 100% sure why an alligator needs a boat, but this dish (and three others) are for sale here 11. And there's a picture of a train! Found here 12. Points for using a real alligator photo. Find it here 13. This is an incredible craft. Find the ins...

I'm angry

I'm angry. And I don't (at the moment) want to be talked out of it. I struggle, often, with expressing or even just sitting with my emotions. I feel like even the photo I chose for this post was more reserved or toned down than how I feel.  But, this is my trying. I'm not going to time this post, just going to write until I feel done, whenever that may be. In this post, I'm going to focus on the anger I feel around my dad and my dad's death. Though, don't get me wrong, I'm also angry about a lot of things going on in my city, in my country, and in the world. My dad chose alcohol over me and my brother. There is no way around this fact. Yes, when I am less angry, I can be more reasonabl and recognize that addiction is a disesase and he didn't have control over it. But, right now, I want to be angry. I want to get to be angry. I want to get to feel my feelings. I don't want to rationalize, I don't want to be reasonable, I don't want to be fair....